Thoughts, Prayers, and Solidarity for Brussels

Standard

The Brussels attacks are again a reminder that we all need to stand strong against terrorism, stereotypes, and hatred towards others. My heart goes out to all those affected by the attacks and to the world, where at any moment, our lives can change drastically.

12020_10153366683556456_4644397604150940003_n

With my past month of European travel, from Paris to Strasbourg, Budapest, Salzburg, Bern, and now to Lisbon, Salamanca, and Madrid, I am saddened and frustrated by the terrorists’ impacts on my daily thoughts about travel. Any tourist sites, airports, or public transportation options are threatened and instill fear for travelers. While I am going to continue to be cautious, I will not let fear control my life. I am writing this post from the Paris Orly airport on my way to Lisbon, which is proof in itself that I am staying strong and encourage other travelers to do the same. As I said in my One World 365 post, Why You Shouldn’t Let Terrorism Stop You From Studying Abroad in France, we must continue to live freely and happily, contrary to what the terrorists want.

Education encourages me to think that it is possible to teach peace and understanding, especially if we as individuals make an effort to understand the world outside our own. Continue to travel, meet strangers, and explore the fact that there is more than one way to live and we can all learn from other lifestyles. Peace and safe travels to all inspirNational followers!

Leave a Reply

