Insights from Moving

Standard

Relieved to say that I am finally all settled in my new home in Columbia, South Carolina! The past two weeks have been very busy preparing to move, saying goodbye to loved ones in Cleveland, traveling to South Carolina, unpacking, and preparing for international business school.

The moving process has brought mixed emotions, sweat and tears, and hopeful anticipation of my new journey in the southern United States. In the stress of moving, I was reminded to find joy (inspired by my friends, and family) in order to make the transition as pleasant as possible. Below are some of the great insights I have gained from completing my first cross-country move:

1. Moving helps us declutter, organize, and prioritize our belongings. We may not be able to bring that favorite stuffed animal or antique vase we have had with us for years. While we may feel sad to leave it behind, we can donate it and provide joy to others.

Source: Avro Moving

Source: Avro Moving

2. Moving provides us with the opportunity to revisit our travel trinkets and favorite clothes and accessories, reminding us of our favorite memories from our adventures. We can think of packing as a time to reflect on all of our past experiences, providing us with closure as we transition to the next step in our journey.

3. Moving teaches us how to turn any place from “house” to “home.” By adding our own personal touches, decorations, and photos, any place can feel like “home.” We can seek the familiar to make us comfortable like we are at home. For example, in the United States, I have learned that it is comforting to see similar stores across states. My favorite superstore, Target, and my favorite pharmacy, CVS, are everywhere,  which makes moving across the country less intimidating.

4. Moving enables us to refresh who we are and who we want to be. We can adjust our daily routines to improve our health and happiness, seek out new hobbies, and learn new cultures from our local surroundings. We can take a deep breath of new fresh air and start the day remembering “carpe diem.” We can make a place what we want it to be.

I hope these insights provide you with an inspirNational mindset to help you as you move now or in the future. I am reminded of one of my previous posts, Bloom Where You Are Planted, which I will remember as I get established in Columbia. With moving season upon us, good luck as many of you make the exciting life transition!

Leave a Reply

