Spring Transitions

Standard

Spring is in the air! I am finding that life in my 20’s seems to be a series of springs, with new beginnings and transitions occurring all the time. Those of us in our 20’s are constantly adapting to change as we are developing ourselves, our careers, and our relationships as we locate our place and determine our fit in the world. Watching myself and my friends in many transition phases, I have been dreaming about the wonders of stability. How comforting it seems to be older, established, stable, and settled in life. Just as people older than me often say “I wish as young again,” I often think “I wish I was stable.” I have been seeking inspiration for how to best respond to life’s many transitions.

In this month’s Oprah Magazine, Oprah features inspiring anecdotes of how women have reacted to change. She connects to those of us who struggle as we face change, and provides an interesting alternative:

“We understand that when change has its way with you, you can lose a lot – like the people and things you hold dear, or sight of who you are. But picture an even more painful scenario: You wake up day after day, and nothing is ever different, and so you have no opportunity to grow, to expand your humanity and the capacity of your heart. You miss out on the essential point of being alive, which is to experience experiences and feel feelings, to partake of the messy and marvelous things occurring all around you, to watch the powerful play go on and contribute your verse. And, at the end of it all, to look back and say that you lived.”

After first reading this, I paused and was in awe. I was reminded about the importance of change and how it helps us grow as people. It is comforting to know that we all face change, and it is the essence of life. With each change I face in the transitional lifestyle of the 20’s, I am creating the established woman I aspire to be in the future.

Source: Times Union

Source: Times Union

The Oprah Magazine also features a Transition Tool Kit, which I found especially helpful to understand the stages we face in transition and how we can respond to them.The logical approach to facing transitions makes them seem more manageable and relatable to those around us.

Like the predictability of spring arriving every year, we can anticipate that we will face transitions. With every spring, and every transition, we have the opportunity to renew ourselves and our surroundings. Along with nature, we begin a new season of our lives. I am inspired to have this mindset with each transition I face now and in the future.

Leave a Reply

