InspirNational Insights from Senior Citizens

Standard

Holidays bring families together and are one of the unique times that we spend with multiple generations. As I go through transitions in my life, I seek insights from those older than me based on their life experiences. With Easter weekend behind us, I focused on the senior generations (my grandparents and their friends) for some wisdom. When I think about how many changes I’ve faced in my quarter-century life, I can only imagine how many changes the senior generations have faced, in terms of their families, friends, careers, health, technology, and societal trends. I find it interesting that my generation, the one preparing to climb the corporate ladder, the future leaders of business, government, and healthcare, are so focused on the climb and comparing ourselves to others. While I am equally guilty of this, I think it’s time to take a step back and think like the senior generations. Over the weekend, I was reminded of the priorities and mindset of many senior citizens, which I describe below:

  1. Protect and be grateful for your health. Health is the only aspect of life that guarantees we can live. I find when I ask my grandparents how they are doing, they first discuss their health and say some variation of “I am grateful to be alive.”
  2. Put your relationships (family, friends, significant others) above all else. The people in your life are who will share your happy moments and your challenges with you and will be there for you when you are in need. Visiting two nursing homes this weekend reminded me that what brightens the seniors’ days is not how successful they were or how wealthy they were, but how many family members and friends they have to enjoy the adventure of life.
  3. Take each day as it comes. There is only so much planning and anticipating we can do. While planning for the future is a good idea, dwelling on fears about the future is a waste of energy and instead we should focus on finding joy today.
  4. Do what makes you happy. Only you know what that means and only you can control your mindset about what each day brings you. As the old saying says, money doesn’t buy you happiness. It may be your family or friends, your hobbies, your career, your faith, etc. Regardless of what brings you happiness, make sure it is part of your daily life no matter what life stage you are in.
Source: Pinterest

Source: Pinterest

I hope we all can appreciate these thoughts and seek wisdom from the generations older than us, who have interesting stories and important life insights to share. Interested to learn more? Check out this Daily Mail article.

Leave a Reply

