inspirNational Quotes V

Standard

Recently, someone asked me what was the most recent television show I watched, and I paused and thought, “I don’t remember the last time I have watched TV!” February has turned into one of my busiest months with constant work, little relaxation, and living the fast life. I have accepted this situation though because I have exciting opportunities ahead of me and I know that every ounce of work will make a difference in my future. My workout shirt today keeps me going and reminds me that my hard work will pay off.

IMG_5027

Looking for more inspiration, I turned back to Change Your Life! A Little Book of Big Ideas, by Allen Klein, which I described in my inspirNational quotes III post. I finished the book and outlined my favorite inspirNational quotes from the following sections:

changeYourLife

Gather your courage. Grow old gracefully:

“Courage is grace under pressure.” -Ernest Hemingway

“Courage is contagious. When a brave man takes a stand, the spines of others are often stiffened.” -Billy Graham

“Wrinkles should merely indicate where the smiles have been.” -Mark Twain

“In youth we learn. In old age we understand.” -Marie von Ebner-Eschenbach

Have hope. Help others:

“To travel hopefully is a better thing than to arrive.” -Robert Louis Stevenson

“The hopeful man sees success where others see failure, sunshine where others see shadows and storm.” -Orison S. Marden

“A life isn’t significant except for its impact on other lives.” -Jackie Robinson

“Somewhere out there is a unique place for you to help others-a unique life role for you to fill that only you can fill.” -Thomas Kinkade

“Service is rent that you pay for room on this earth.” -Shirley Chisholm

“The world is good natured to  people who are good natured.” -William Makepeace Thackeray

“If you always give, you will always have.” -Chinese Proverb

Keep it light. Know thyself:

“Happiness is not a state to arrive at, but a manner of traveling.” -Margaret Lee Runbeck

“No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.” -Eleanor Roosevelt

“Know how to live within yourself: there is in your soul a whole world of mysterious and enchanted thoughts; they will be drowned by the noise without; daylight will drive them away; listen to their singing and be silent.” -Fyodor Tutchev

“Your vision will become clear only when you can look into your own heart. Who looks outside dreams; who looks inside, awakes.” -Carl Jung

“You were born an original. Don’t die a copy.” -John Mason

Learn to forgive. Let ‘er rip life’s journey:

“Always forgive your enemies-nothing annoys them so much.” -Oscar Wilde

“First, I was dying to finish high school and start college. And then I was dying to finish college and start working. And then I was dying to marry and have children. And then I was dying for my children to grow old enough so I could return to work. And then I was dying to retire. And now, I am dying…and suddenly realize I forgot to live.” -Anonymous

“One of the most tragic things I know about human nature is that all of us tend to put off living. We are dreaming of some magical rose garden over the horizon-instead of enjoying the roses blooming outside our windows today.” -Dale Carnegie

“We must be willing to get rid of the life we’ve planned, so as to have the life that is waiting for us.” -Joseph Campbell

“Life is like a sewer- you get out of it what you put into it.” -Tom Lehrer

“Life does not have to be perfect to be wonderful.” -Annette Funicello

Never give up:

“Be like a postage stamp. Stick to one thing until you get there.” Josh Billings

“A bend in the road is not the end of the road…unless you fail to make the turn.” -Anonymous

“Sometimes things which at the moment may be perceived as obstacles-and actually be obstacles, difficulties, or drawbacks- can in the long run result in some good end which would not have occurred if it had not been for the obstacle.” -Steve Allen

“Adversity causes some men to break; others to break records.” -William Arthur Ward

“Turn your stumbling blocks into stepping stones.” -Anonymous

“We are continually faced by great opportunities brilliantly disguised as insoluble problems.” -Lee Lacocca

Sweet smell of success:

“Don’t aim for success if you want it; just do what you love and believe in, and it will come naturally.” -David Frost

“I cannot give you the formula for success, but I can give you the formula for failure, which is: try to please everybody.” -Herbert B. Swope

“People become really quit remarkable when they start thinking that they can do things. When they believe in themselves they have the first secret of success.” -Norman Vincent Peale

“While one person hesitates because he feels inferior, the other is busy making mistakes and becoming superior.” -Henry C. Link

“Keep away from people who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you feel that you, too, can become great.” -Mark Twain

“Don’t wait for your ship to come; swim out to it.” -Anonymous

“The secret to success in life is  for a man to be ready for his opportunity when it comes.” -Benjamin Disraeli

“The secret to success is constancy to purpose.” -Benjamin Disraeli

“Winners can tell you where they are going, what they plan to do along the way, and who will e sharing the adventure with them.” -Denis Waitley

“No one is a failure who is enjoying life.” -William Feather

Take the first step:

“If you don’t know where you are going, you will probably end up somewhere else.” -Laurence J. Peter

“Often people attempt to live their lives backwards; they try to have more things, or more money, in order to do more of what they want, so they will be happier. The way it actually works is the reverse. You must first be who you really are, then do what you need to do in order to have what you want.” -Margaret Young

“knowing what you want is the first step to getting it.” -Louise Hart

Win some, lose some:

“For everything you have missed, you have gained something else; and for everything you gain, you lose something.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

“You really never lose until you stop trying.” -Mike Ditka

“Everything that has a beginning has an ending. Make your peace with that and all will be well.” -The Buddha

I hope these quotes inspire you as they have inspired me to keep making a difference in the world, fight for what I believe in, work hard, and never give up. Thank you, Allen Klein, for compiling the quotes in your book to help readers reflect and feel encouraged.

I tweet inspirational quotes and articles often – follow @brittanyvb to see all the quotes. Also check out my new inspirNational Facebook page – “like” the page to see all of my blog updates and related articles.

One response »

Leave a Reply

