Llamas: A Symbol of Perseverance

Standard

Over the weekend, one of my best friends from the University of Michigan visited me and we had insightful conversations, reminiscing about college, reflecting on our careers, and dreaming about the future. Both of us are facing unique challenges in our lives and we are craving an extra dose of inspiration.

Ironically, my friend pointed out a plaque on my wall of a llama, which I purchased in Chile while I was studying abroad. A llama? Most of you may ask. Why would I have a plaque of a llama? While studying in Chile, I learned that llamas are a significant symbol in South America. Since pre-Hispanic times, llamas were widely used meat and pack animals by Andean cultures in South America. Llamas represent perseverance. As a senior in college at the time, I had to put forth great effort in order to succeed personally and professionally. I purchased the plaque as a reminder that I can persevere, as long as I work hard, stay balanced, and keep an optimistic attitude.

FullSizeRender

Looking at the plaque two years later, I am reminded that I can and will persevere. According to Spirit Animal Totems, if a llama crosses your path:

“She is here to remind you that only through hard work and perseverance will your dreams be realized. Know that you have the ability to adapt to any situation you find yourself in. Know that whatever loads you are carrying right now you will be able to manage and see them through. Alternatively Llama could also be reminding you that your biggest focus should be yourself and that personal growth and your connection to spirit should be your highest priority at all times. Insisting on following your heart rather than your ego will bring you all the rewards you are seeking.”

This message resonates with me at this point in life. I am sure that others can relate, so if you are facing any life challenges, remember llamas as a symbol of perseverance. You can do it!

Leave a Reply

