Charleston, South Carolina in 24 Hours

Standard

Last weekend, my boyfriend and I planned an impromptu trip to Charleston. When I say impromptu, I really mean it. We were driving to Charleston and still didn’t know if we were going for just a day trip or staying over night! We ended up staying at an Airbnb location, which you can learn about in my previous post. I’m normally a planner, but the spontaneity made this trip exciting. I learned that it is possible to explore a place in only one day!

Downtown Charleston

Downtown Charleston

How can you see Charleston in 24 hours?

  • Schedule a walking tour, which is a great way to get a taste of the highlights of Charleston and to learn about the city’s history and charm. My first priority when planning my trip was to go on a walking tour, and a free one, if possible. The night before we left, I booked the Historic Charleston tour with Free Tours By Foot.
  • Tour the churches (or at least check them out from the outside) to learn why Charleston is called the Holy City.
  • Look for the Phillip Simmons‘ gates. Simmons was a significant ironworker in 20th century Charleston who designed unique, ornate gates. I purchased a pair of earrings designed like his gates.
  • Walk along Rainbow Road, full of beautiful colorful homes and cobblestone streets.
Rainbow Road

Rainbow Road

  • Go shopping and have lunch on King Street, which is one of the most elegant and charming shopping districts I have ever seen.
  • Go for a jog (or stroll in my case 🙂 in Battery Park and see the pineapple fountain and bay area. I learned that pineapples are a symbol of hospitality, and guide Charleston to be one of the most hospitable cities in the U.S.
  • Eat a seafood dinner near Shem Creek for beautiful sunset views and a taste of the low country boil and delicious seafood in Charleston. I tried Red’s Ice House, which is a classic restaurant in Charleston.
  • Have drinks on Sullivan’s Island at Poe’s Tavern, the first tavern I have ever seen that is completely dedicated to Edgar Allan Poe. Charleston was a significant city to Poe, and you will learn why when you go to the tavern.
Inside Poe's Tavern

Inside Poe’s Tavern

  • Explore the beaches. Folly Beach has a fun, hippie vibe. I would also like to explore the Sullivan’s Island beach one day.
  • Tour a plantation. Depending on the season, you can tour Boon Hall Plantation or Magnolia Plantation. Neither plantation was open when I was there, but I plan to go back!
  • Try pralines, benne wafers, and seafood dips (with crab, shrimp, etc.). The flavors of Charleston are delicious!
Charleston City Market

Charleston City Market

  • Shop at the Charleston City Market. You will learn about the trade that used to take place in Charleston and be able to purchase trinkets, accessories, and food to remember your trip.

If and when you get the opportunity, I strongly recommend that you tour Charleston, South Carolina. It may now be my favorite city in the U.S. for how unique and charming it is!

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Places to Visit on the East Coast of the United States | InspirNational

  2. I’ve been to Charleston and I love it, but I was only there for a few hours and I wanted to see so much more. What I did see was the Angel Oak Tree…AMAZING!

    Like

Leave a Reply

