Do What You Love, Love What You Do

Standard
I’m so excited to share the story of Sigourney Seybert, one of my classmates and friends from the University of Michigan. She currently works as a Field Staffer at New Life Church Ann Arbor and as an International Missionary at Great Commission Latin America. She is one of the most inspiring people that I know, who follows her heart and faith to guide her in her career. She is making a huge difference in the world, particularly in El Salvador and the Ann Arbor community. She is positively influencing others to pursue their faith throughout the journey of life. Learn insights from her below!

My friend Brittany and I met while in undergrad at the University of Michigan in a social outreach class.  As you can imagine there are a lot of people in these types of classes that are passionate about community development, social work, and generally making the world a better place.  However, Brittany and I clicked and found ourselves soon dreaming and scheming about our futures and talking about the issues and people groups we were passionate about.
Fast forward to now and I have the privilege of writing a guest post on this blog!  It seems like not long ago I was a little freshman heading to Ann Arbor ready to make a splash, but little did I know I would be moving to El Salvador in 5 short years.  Going into college I knew that I wanted to do something to help others.  Like many hopeful freshman I thought I would go to med school and save peoples’ lives, but after almost failing general chemistry I threw those dreams out the window.  I sought out a church community my first few weeks on campus and settled into a church on campus that was full of young people.  In the spring of 2010 when the opportunity to go on a mission trip to El Salvador presented itself I knew I had to go.  I had no idea what I was getting myself into.
IMG_2977
We touched down in “the land of smiles,” as it is known, to find ourselves in the midst of a national emergency.  All our plans of teaching English, building houses, and feeding kids went out the window and our entire week was spent doing disaster relief.  We delivered clean water, food, and condolences to people who had lost their homes.  We heard countless heart breaking stories of families separated in the night as the water rose, houses washing away, and emergency evacuations.
Now I, Sigourney, grew up in a nice New England Parsons home set on ten acres in the country of mid Michigan.  Up to that point in my life I could think of few times I had felt uncomfortable.  This trip rocked my world.  I started asking a lot of deep questions like: Why do these people have to suffer while I live so comfortably?  Why do they have so little while I have so much?  Can I do anything at all to help?
These questions rang in my ears as I returned to school for my second year.  I cried, I became apathetic, I prayed.  I didn’t know what I could possibly do with my life to make a difference.  So like any logical person would do, I went back.
The second trip was less dramatic, but provided much clarity.  I realized that I could make a difference if only for a few people and I became satisfied with that.  I realized that what I had fallen in love with the year prior was the people.  They don’t have much, but they know what is important.  Relationships.
image_4
So as I returned to Ann Arbor for my final few semesters it was settled:  I would study Spanish, so I could build relationships there, and Social Work so that I had a skill set to empower communities.  From 2012-2014 I would return to El Salvador four times.  Each time my Spanish a little better, my relationships a little deeper, and my heart more fully alive.  In the fall of 2012 I had made the choice to go on staff at the church knowing that half of the year I would move to El Salvador.  I would have the opportunity to love the 40 kids the church there feeds every day, to teach them about God, to help them with homework, but mostly just to love them and their families.  I also now have the opportunity to plan trips for University of Michigan students, just like I once was, that could change the trajectory of their lives.It has been a long road.  It has been a tough road full of pain and heart break, but also full of inexpressible joy.  In five short weeks I will board that plane and I will once again enter the land of smiles, not as a stranger in a foreign land, but as a homecoming.
So at this point you may be asking “How do you live in two places?  How does that even make sense?  Why would you leave your friends and family and comfort?”  These are all valid questions and the answer is simple: I desire to use this life I’ve been given to it’s fullest potential.  For me that means living in two places.  I believe that we are here to love and serve those around us and that to those whom much has been given much is expected.  I have been blessed with abundant resources and I feel that it is my responsibility to be a good steward of these resources.  Now you may be asking “How can I do that?  I can’t just move out of the country!”  This is exactly what I don’t want you to hear.  What I do want you to hear is that you have to power to make a differenceFigure out what you are passionate about and find a way to make your life about it.  My job didn’t even exist until I wanted it.  Do I make a lot of money?  No.  Do I care?  No.  My heart is so full and I wake up every day so excited and grateful for the job that I have that it doesn’t matter.  Maybe for you it does matter.  Well then go get a high paying job and then use your money to bless others in your free time.
IMG_2720

However, I would like to caution you from just giving money away.  I’m not saying it’s a bad thing, but I think you would be missing out on a huge opportunity to learn something.  I have learned more about myself, the world, and what love truly looks like by getting in the trenches with those who are different from me.  I have wept with my friends there, I have laughed, heck I stood up in a wedding in El Salvador last week!  Don’t just give to make yourself feel better.  Give deeply not only of your resources, but of your heart.  Engage with people that need to be seen, and feel empowered to impact others for good.

I will get off of my soap box now, but as you can probably tell I am super passionate about this.  I’d love to talk with anyone more about any of the things I talked about.  Please feel free to contact me via email at sigseybert@gmail.com!  Also, I have a blog of my own if you’d like to read more details or see more pictures about my journey and the work I’m doing now. Thanks for reading!

-Sigourney Seybert

Thank you, Sigourney, for sharing your amazing story and inspiring others to do what they love, and love what they do!

Leave a Reply

